This spring, Wesleyan’s inaugural Hamilton Prize Selection Committee will choose the first recipient of the Wesleyan University Hamilton Prize for Creativity—a four-year full-tuition scholarship that will be awarded to the Wesleyan student of the Class of 2021 whose creative written work is judged to best reflect the originality, artistry, and dynamism embodied in Hamilton: An American Musical. The prize was established in honor of Lin-Manuel Miranda ’02, Hon. ’15 and Thomas Kail ’99, writer/creator and director of the Tony Awardwinning musical, who serve as honorary chairs of the committee.

In addition to Miranda and Kail, the all-alumni all-star selection committee includes TV writer/producer Carter Bays ’97, Shapiro- Silverberg Professor of Creative Writing Amy Bloom ’75, author Daniel Handler ’92, author Maggie Nelson ’94, singer-musician-writer Amanda Palmer ’98, author Mary Roach ’81, music executive Bozoma Saint John ’99, actor/ director Kaneza Schaal ’06, jazz singer Tierney Sutton ’86, TV writer/producer Craig Thomas ’97, TV writer/producer and soon-to-be-novelist Matthew Weiner ’87, P’18, and poet/critic Simone White ’93.

“Bringing the Wes community together to select the first recipient of the Hamilton Prize for Creativity fills me with love and gratitude,” said Miranda. “I am humbled to be a member of such a talented group of passionate, creative forces.”

“Wesleyan gave us all the freedom to explore our creativity without boundaries or limits,” added Kail. “Working alongside Wes alums to choose an original written work for the Hamilton Prize is an honor.”