Finn, Rubenstein, Roberts Honored with Binswanger Teaching Prizes


During Wesleyan’s 185th Commencement on May 28, Wesleyan presented three outstanding faculty members with the Binswanger Prize for Excellence in Teaching, photographed here with President Roth ’78 (right). These prizes, made possible by gifts from the family of the late Frank G. Binswanger Sr., Hon. ’85, underscore Wesleyan’s commitment to its scholar-teachers, who are responsible for the University’s distinctive approach to liberal arts education.

John E. Finn, professor of government, has been a member of Wesleyan’s faculty since 1986, serving as chair of the Department of Government in 2007 and from 2009–11 and retired this year. Mary-Jane Rubenstein, professor of religion, joined Wesleyan’s faculty in 2006. She also is a core faculty member in the Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Program and an affiliated faculty member in the Science in Society Program. Andrea Roberts, associate professor of the practice, chemistry, began teaching in Wesleyan’s Department of Chemistry in 2004 as a visiting instructor while pursuing her graduate research at Wesleyan.